Koelian Tomb – II.

S’iug set the glass down on the small table on his side and turned to Elias, a mocking smile on his purple lips.
“I called you,” he announced after a deep breath in the name of our old-school not friendship,” so he did remember who Elias was.
“And because,” he continued, “I expect an old school…” He left it unfinished but Elias knew.
“Brong Vrop,” he said without any surprise.

S’iug nodded. “Brong Vrop, indeed. I thought it advisable to have you present for a range of understandable reasons.”

He half filled his glass again and emptied it with his mask making a sucking noise, Elias hadn’t notice before. “I’m glad you called,” he dared say. Brong, of course, will try to shut you up.”
“S’iug antennas lifted straight up. “By what method? Force, perhaps? Bribery?”

Elias shrugged his shoulders. “I don’t know.”
He glanced anxiously at S’iug, “we can count on you, can’t we?”

S’iug looked annoyed and superior. “Count on me?” He said as if he didn’t like the phrase.
“Let us understand each other flat. I have not a very high opinion of the flat-force but I have even lower one of such kotoworld scum as Brong Vrop.”

He took a quick zip of his drink, “I’ve seen an innocent Andorian murdered by Vrop’s reptilian partner. I take it my civil duty to take a witness stand and tell what I knew and what I saw. This is no favour to the flats. I do this because it is my duty and honour and nobody shall make me keep my mouth shut, as you put it.”

There as arrogance and contempt in S’iug’s tone. Even if he was broke and afflicted with a lethal alcoholism, he retained the kingly opinion of himself. To a S’iug, Elias and Brong Vrop were from the other side of the tracks.

Elias watched his drowning another glass of New Bayou bourbon silently and wonder if there was hope for this man.

Footsteps suddenly sounded from the porch. A sound vibration tinkled filmy from the rear of the house. S’iug rose and left the room.

A few seconds later he returned followed by a squat reptile with tentacle limps and a series of small eyes on top of his round head.
Elias was shocked and had literally jumped out of his seat. “Damn,” he shouted. In the meantime S’iug had resumed hi seat, poured another drink and bowed with ironic formality to his visitor. “Brong Vrop, you will excuse the condition of my house,” he said. “I no longer can afford servants and the environmental regulators are down, too. Actually it is rather uncomfortable even for a Koelian.” He smiled.
“However, Mr Brong Vrop, what can I do for you?”


Read all the Koelian tomb chapters in order, HERE!

Leave a comment